Ben Elton

Ben Elton is a multi award winning novelist, playwright, television writer, screen writer and lyricist. He is also a theatre, screen and TV Director, a Stand Up Comedian and a very occasional actor. He was born in Catford, South East London on May 3rd 1959, the youngest of four Chlldren. He read Drama at Mancheter University. He is married and has three children.

There follows a list of Ben Elton’s principle professional work.



Stark (1989) Gridlock (1991) This Other Eden (1993) Popcorn (1996) Blast From The Past (1998) Inconceivable (1999) Dead Famous (2001) High Society (2002) Past Mortem (2004) The First Casualty (2005) Chart Throb (2006) Blind Faith (2007) Meltdown (2009) Two Brothers (2012)

Six of the above were UK No 1 Bestsellers. Ben Elton’s novels have also been hugely successful in Australia and are published around the world.



The Young Ones (1982/4) Co Writer with Rik Mayall and Lisa Meyer.

Alfresco (1982/4) Performer and Co Writer with Stephen Fry. Hugh Laurie and Emma Thompson.

Happy Families (1985) Writer.

Blackadder 2 (1983) Co Writer with Richard Curtis.

Filthy Rich & Catflap (1986) Writer.

Saturday Live (1986/7) Comedian/Host.

Blackadder The Third (1987) Co writer with Richard Curtis.

Friday Night Live (1988) Comedian/Host.

Blackadder Goes Forth (1989) Co writer with Richard Curtis.

Ben Elton The Man From Auntie (1990 and 1994) Writer/Performer.

The Thin Blue Line (1995/6) Writer.

The Ben Elton Show (1998) Writer Performer.

Blessed (2005) Writer.

The Wright Way (2013) Writer.

Ben also wrote Mr Bean’s ‘exam’ episode.



Ben has been one of the UK’s most successful live acts for almost thirty years. He last toured in 2005/6. In 1990 he co hosted the Nelson Mandela Celebration at Wembley Stadium. He hosted the Brits in 1997 and 1998 and The Royal Variety Performance in 2000. He writes all his own material.



The New Review (1985) With Richard Curtis. Gasping (1990) Silly Cow (1991) Popcorn (1997) Blast From the Past (1998).



The Beautiful Game (2000) Book and Lyrics, music by Andrew Lloyd Webber. We Will Rock You (2002) Book, Music by Queen. Tonight’s The Night (2004) Book. Music by Rod Stewart and others. Love Never Dies (2010) co wrote book. Music by Andrew Lloyd Webber.



Maybe Baby (2000) Writer/Director.

Other directing work includes Silly Cow, The Thin Blue Line (with John Birkin) Blessed, We Will Rock You, Tonight’s The Night and The Beautiful Game, reworked as The Boys In the Photograph.



Three BAFTA’s (Best Comedy Series.  The Young Ones and Blackadder 3 and 4).

Two Olivier Awards (Popcorn and We Will Rock You).

The Royal Television Society Writers Award (Man From Auntie).

British Comedy Award (The Thin Blue Line).

Public and Professional Jury Awards at Reims (Thin Blue Line).

Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger Award for Crime Fiction (Popcorn).

WH Smiths People’s Choice Fiction Award (High Society).

Prix Polar International Crime Writer Award (Amitiès Mortelles (Past Mortem, French edition).

Critics Circle Award Best Musical (The Beautiful Game).


In 2007 Ben Elton was awarded the Special Golden Rose D’Or at The International Television festival in Lucerne Switzerland for his life time contribution to the Television Arts.